BRIGANTINE NJ DWI LAWYER
The Severe Consequences of DWI Charges in New Jersey
It is universally known that driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime with severe consequences. Being charged with this offense in New Jersey, however, can prove particularly onerous, resulting in license suspension and incarceration of several months even for first-time offenders. The Spodek Law Group, one of the most respected law firms nationwide, confirms that NJ imposes some of the harshest penalties for DWI infractions.
First Offense Consequences
Located at the northern end of Atlantic City, Brigantine is patrolled rigorously; it poses a high risk of frequent charges for driving under the influence. A first-time offender arrested for DWI here may face many repercussions including up to 1 year suspended driving privileges, 30 days in jail plus mandatory ignition interlock installation on the vehicle he was caught driving when drunk. These charges’ severity will depend on their Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) readings.
The Role of Blood Alcohol Content Checkpoints
Blood alcohol content check results play an essential role in determining not only guilt but also monetary fines and lengthened license suspension periods in a DWI case. The software mainly used to carry out these tests is the Alcotest 7110 which all defendants suspected of DWI are subjected to take.
Second and Third-Time Offense Consequences
A subsequent charge following the first conviction regardless if it were his/her second or third offenses will result in stiffer sanctions. The former might attract punishment such as 90 days jailing and loss of their driving rights for two years while six months jail time marks part of the latter’s sentence plus termination of their driver’s licenses for ten years.
Challenging Blood Alcohol Content ResultsYour Next Option
It’s paramount to note that challenging BAC proof could see you exonerated from DUI crimes whose legal ramifications are graver than you might have contemplated. The Law Offices of Todd Spodek comprises former prosecutors from over 25 NJ towns, all of whose credentials include certification as Operators of the Alcotest 7110. These attorneys can use your results and performance in a breath chemical test to create ironclad defenses that prove you innocent.
If charged with N.J.S.A. 39:4-50violations like DWI or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Breath Testing violations under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2 in Brigantine city, New Jersey, waste no time booking a Free Consultation appointment, courtesy of the Law Offices of Todd Spodek. They are on call day and night, ready to assist with your legal matter.
The Brigantine City Municipal Court
The Brigantine City Municipal Court is situated at 1417 West Brigantine Avenue, Brigantine, New Jerseyits jurisdiction extends throughout the regionand managed by Judge William E Gasbarro J.M.C presides over this court alongside prosecutor William E Reynolds Esq., while Michelle Danenhower handles court admin tasks.
Penalties for DWI Offenders Across Offenses
As earlier stated, recurrent offenses after a First Sentence attracts stronger sentences than prior convictions in NJ courts do. A summary of these increased charges is explained below:
|Offense||Jail Time||Loss of License|
|1st||Up to 30 days ||Up to one year |
|2nd ||Utnp90 days||Two years|
|3rd or more||6 months ||10 years |
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in New Jersey are a severe offense with severe consequences culminating from a variety of factors such as the number of offenses and the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) readings. Repeat DWI infractions attract harsher penalties than first convictions do, and they could lead to substantial fines, extended jail time, and license suspension periods. With the Law Offices of Todd Spodek’s expertise, employing attorneys that possess both certifications in Standard Field Sobriety Tests and Administration of Alcotest 7110 machines mandated by the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration can offer you a better chance at fighting these charges.
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS