Flemington NJ Robbery Defense Lawyers
While it cannot be said that Hunterdon County is overrun with violent crime, it does have its share of robbery offenses. There are a host of scenarios bringing this offense into play. Included among these is shoplifting where force is used, for example. A struggle while snatching a cell phone and a completely premeditated theft committed with a firearm come under New Jersey robbery statutes. It is critical to bear in mind is that irrespective of the reason you were charged with robbery; you need a good criminal attorney in your camp. A robbery violation carries a minimum of 5 years in prison and as much as 20 years. There is no room for a half-baked defense.
Spodek Law Group can come to your aid if you or your loved one is looking at a robbery charge in Flemington at the Hunterdon County Superior Court. Whether your complaint or indictment is for first-degree or second-degree robbery, our criminal lawyers have a wealth of experience to put into action so you achieve the best outcome in your case.
A Robbery Offense in Hunterdon County, NJ
Robbery is dealt with under N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1. The Hunterdon County Prosecutor’s Office needs to establish these four elements, beyond reasonable doubt, to get a conviction for a second-degree offense of robbery:
- The defendant attempted or committed a theft;
- They caused bodily injury, used force or threatened to use force, purposely put someone in fear of immediate bodily injury, or they committed or threatened to commit a crime of the first or second degree;
- The conduct from (2) took place during the course of a theft, attempted theft or during flight; and
- The conduct of the accused was purposeful.
An additional element that needs to be presented by the state to prove a case of first-degree robbery is that the defendant tried to kill someone, purposely caused or attempted to cause serious bodily injury, or was armed with a deadly weapon.
What are the Penalties for Robbery in New Jersey
The consequences for robbery are harsh. A first-degree robbery can get you 10-20 years in prison and a fine as much as $200,000. Second-degree robbery convicts are looking at 5-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000. Also, for robbery, the No Early Release Act applies at the time of sentencing for either first or second-degree. This means you would have to serve at least 85% of the prison term before being eligible for parole. Unfortunately, robbery is not eligible for Pretrial Intervention.
Definition of the term “Weapon” Almost any item that can help someone to inflict serious injury or death is considered a “deadly weapon.” Even items like pellet guns, BB guns and the like have been considered deadly weapons by New Jersey courts.
Conspiracy To Commit Robbery & Accomplice Liability A person can get convicted of robbery as long as they had an agreement with the primary conspirator(s) to commit the crime. This makes it possible for the state to pursue 2C:15-1 charges against a person who served as a lookout, the set-up person (e.g. made the call to schedule the meeting as part of the robbery plan) or any other role where a substantial step was taken to participate in the robbery.
Experienced Robbery Attorneys Available To Help Now In Flemington, NJ
There are few criminal charges a person can face in Hunterdon County that are more worrisome than robbery. This is not an offense for an inexperienced lawyer. Speak to the lawyers at Spodek Law Group. We have handled many robbery charges at the courthouse in Flemington and others in New Jersey. To speak to a lawyer anytime, contact our office today. Attorneys are standing by to speak to you free of charge.