Hunterdon County Simple Assault Lawyers
Hunterdon County is home to a considerable amount of disorderly persons offenses, with simple assault being one of the most common. Municipal courts in Raritan Township, Clinton Readington, and others handle such charges that can arise from cases of domestic violence, neighbor disputes, and bar brawls or any situation where multiple parties get physical. Despite how you find yourself charged with simple assault, hiring the attorney who can represent you is crucial in avoiding criminal records and penalties.
A Charge of Simple Assault in Hunterdon County
Most incidents of simple assault are heard by municipal courts in Hunterdon County since it falls under their jurisdiction for disorderly persons offenses. If the victim is a police officer, teacher, EMT, or another individual with heightened protection under N.J.S.A 2C:12-1b(5), then a simple assault would become an aggravated charge. The following are ways in which an individual can be charged for simple assault.
– Attempting to inflict bodily injury
– Knowingly, purposely or recklessly inflicting bodily injury
– Negligently inflicting bodily injury with a deadly weapon
– Taking part in physical menacing to cause fear of imminent and serious bodily injury
Keep in mind that they only need momentary pain or impairment to sustain Äúbodily injuryÄù as proof for a simple assault offense. A classic example is the pain resulting from getting slapped on the face.
Simple Assault in Domestic Violence Cases
If the defendant’s spouse, boyfriend/girlfriend, or individuals covered under the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act becomes victims of simple assault charges; temporary restraining order issuance follows. This means that anyone facing serious allegations like these could see themselves experiencing two proceedings – criminal prosecution and family court proceeding concurrently to determine whether TRO should become permanent.
Possible Penalties for Simple Assault
Simple assault sentences may include maximum fines costing $1 000 upon conviction with up to six months in Hunterdon County Jail, $50 VCCB assessment, $75 Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment, $33 in court expenses, probation or driverÄôs license suspension.
The New Jersey Conditional Dismissal Program
A diversionary program known as the Conditional Dismissal takes care of simple assault and disorderly persons offenses without convictions benefiting individuals who have never been on this route before. One year’s completion of probation typically suffices.
Simple Assault Attorneys¬in Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Spodek Law Group provides legal representation services for simple assault charges falling under different municipalities within Hunterdon County. Flemington, Tewksbury Clinton Lebanon, ¬Readington-Raritan Township- Franklin Township- Union Township-Holland-Alexandria Bethlehem-East Amwell-West Amwell-Lambertville-Delaware Township-High Bridge-Glen Gardner-Hampton-Califon- Frenchtown-Milford -Bloomsbury and Stockton area are under their coverage.
Simple Assault attorneys understand the turmoil that clients go through to deal with the charges at play. The lawyers take up clients’ concerns to gain a comprehensive perspective on their current situations and try everything possible to help them overcome it. Don’t hesitate to call for a free consultation because every concern is valid!
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS