24/7 call for a free consultation 888-504-2746



Monmouth County Aggravated Assault Defense Lawyers

December 19, 2023


Monmouth County Aggravated Assault Defense Lawyers

Aggravated assault is an extremely serious felony offense in New Jersey. Charges can range from third to second degree crimes depending on factors such as the extent of injuries, use of a weapon, or if the victim was a member of law enforcement or other public servant.

What is Aggravated Assault in NJ?

New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(b) defines aggravated assault. Key factors determining the degree of charges include:

  • Injuries sustained by the victim
  • Use or presence of a deadly weapon
  • If the victim was a police officer, firefighter, EMT, school official or other public servant


Penalties can include:

  • Second Degree (5-10 years in prison)
  • Third Degree (3-5 years in prison)
  • Fourth Degree (up to 18 months in prison)

Why Hire an Experienced Attorney?

An experienced Monmouth County criminal defense lawyer can thoroughly investigate your case, build the strongest defenses, negotiate with prosecutors, and fight for the best possible outcome at trial if necessary. They understand the complexities of assault charges and can guide you through the legal process.

Contact a Monmouth County Aggravated Assault Lawyer

To discuss your case with an attorney, contact:

  • Marshall Criminal Defense – 855-450-8310
  • Keith Oliver Criminal Law – 732-858-6959
  • Chamlin, Uliano & Walsh – 732-440-3950

Fighting the Charges

An experienced criminal defense attorney can analyze the details of your case and build the strongest possible defense. They may argue the assault was in self-defense, the injuries were accidental, or the charges are exaggerated. Effective legal representation is key.

Mitigating Factors

Defense lawyers may also present mitigating factors to the prosecution to negotiate reduced charges or sentencing. These can include:

  • Lack of criminal history
  • Positive background and character references
  • Mental health or addiction issues
  • Provocation by the victim

Possible Defenses

Other potential defenses can include:

  • Misidentification by the victim/witnesses
  • Self-defense
  • False accusations
  • Intoxication

Diversionary Programs

First-time offenders may be eligible for pre-trial intervention or diversionary programs. These involve probation, counseling, community service and other requirements in exchange for avoided or reduced charges.


If charges are dismissed or downgraded, or after completing all sentencing terms, expungement may be possible after a waiting period. This can clear the assault from your criminal record.

Get Legal Guidance

Never face aggravated assault charges without an experienced criminal defense lawyer by your side. They can fully protect your rights and build the strongest case possible. Contact a Monmouth County attorney today.


Call Now!