Monmouth County DWI
DWI in Monmouth County, New Jersey
Getting arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Monmouth County can happen more easily than you might think. With popular Jersey Shore towns like Asbury Park, Belmar, and Point Pleasant, there are lots of bars, restaurants, concerts, and parties where people consume alcohol. After a fun night out, some make the mistake of getting behind the wheel while impaired. But even just a couple drinks can put you over the legal limit of 0.08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
A DWI conviction brings severe penalties like fines, license suspension, ignition interlock device, jail time, and more. So if you or someone you know got charged with DWI anywhere in Monmouth County, don’t wait to call an experienced defense attorney. The stakes are high, so you need an aggressive lawyer fighting for you. Keep reading to learn more about DWI laws and defenses in New Jersey.
Monmouth County DWI Penalties
For first DWI offenses in New Jersey, common penalties include:
- Fines from $250 to $500
- License suspension of 3 months or more
- 12-48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Ignition interlock device installed in your car for 3-12 months
- Possible jail sentence up to 30 days
Penalties get harsher if your BAC was very high (0.15%+) or if you had a minor in the vehicle. Subsequent offenses also bring much stiffer penalties like thousands in fines, license suspension for years, and months of jail time.
Refusing a Breath Test
When police pull you over on suspicion of DWI, they will ask you to blow into a breathalyzer to test your BAC. Refusing this chemical test brings its own penalties like fines, license suspension, and IDRC. So your best bet is to comply with breath testing to at least show you weren’t extremely intoxicated.
Under 21 DWI Charges
The legal BAC limit for drivers under 21 years old is much lower at just 0.01%. Just a small amount of alcohol like one beer can put an underage driver over the limit. First offense fines start at $250 plus license suspension, IDRC, community service, and more. Given the steep penalties even for underage first offenses, drivers under 21 need an experienced DWI lawyer to fight the charges.
Common DWI Defenses
An aggressive defense attorney will examine every aspect of your DWI arrest to build the strongest case for dismissal or acquittal. Here are some of the most common DWI defenses used in Monmouth County and statewide:
Invalid Traffic Stop
If police didn’t have sufficient reasonable suspicion to pull you over in the first place, your lawyer can argue to suppress all evidence from the invalid stop. Without chemical test results or officer observations, the prosecution’s case will crumble.
Faulty Breath Testing
The Alcotest breathalyzers used in New Jersey are notoriously unreliable with frequent false positives. An experienced DWI lawyer knows how to uncover problems with improper calibration, maintenance, or administration of breath tests.
Various health conditions like diabetes or acid reflux can mimic signs of intoxication during field sobriety tests. And medications you take can also cause false high blood alcohol readings.
Rising Blood Alcohol
Your body continues absorbing alcohol for 30-90 minutes after your last drink. So it’s possible your BAC was actually below 0.08% when driving but rose by the time you took a breath test.
Finding the Right DWI Lawyer in Monmouth County
As you can see, DWI laws and defenses can be complex, requiring an attorney well-versed in all aspects. When looking for a lawyer to fight your Monmouth County DWI charges, be sure to ask:
- Are they certified in Alcotest device operation and field sobriety testing?
- How much experience do they have specifically with Monmouth County DWI cases?
- Can they provide case results of DWI dismissals or acquittals they have won?
- What strategies will they use to fight your charges?
Don’t leave your fate in the hands of just any lawyer. Monmouth County is strict on DWI enforcement, so you need a local attorney who knows all the judges, prosecutors, and defense tactics that give you the best chance of beating your charges.
The consequences of a DWI conviction will follow you for years. Fines, license suspension, and ignition interlock device will drain your bank account. And good luck finding a job or rental apartment with a DWI on your record. So for your best chance at dismissal or acquittal, work with an expert Monmouth County DWI lawyer ready to aggressively fight for you.
Learn more about DWI laws and defenses at these sites:
Here is a video explaining DWI laws in New Jersey:
This article covered the basics of DWI charges and defenses in Monmouth County, NJ. Getting arrested for drunk driving is scary, but an experienced DWI attorney can guide you through the complex legal process. Act fast to start building your defense for the best chance of beating your charges.