New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer
What is Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey?
Those who are accused of criminal sexual contact in New Jersey face serious consequences if they’re convicted. Criminal sexual contact is defined as either a crime of the third degree or fourth degree. In New Jersey, the law states that criminal sexual contact takes place
- When an actor (individual accused) uses coercion or physical force to carry out the act without the victim suffering from any personal injuries.
- When an actor uses his or her supervisory role to coerce an individual who is in prison, a hospital, or another facility to commit a sexual act.
- When a victim is older than 13 but younger than 16 with the actor being at least four years older.
- When the actor is a blood relative, resource family parent, or individual in a disciplinary position who uses power to commit a criminal sexual act on a victim who is at least 16 but not yet 18.
There are certain instances where criminal sexual contact can be escalated to a more serious offense. Aggravated criminal sexual contact occurs when
- The victim is at least 13 but not yet 16 and the actor uses supervisory power over the victim.
- The criminal act was carried out during a robbery, homicide, burglary, aggravated assault, kidnapping, criminal escape, or arson.
- An individual is armed with a weapon and uses it to get the victim to carry out the act.
- The victim suffered from severe injuries.
- The victim is physically unable to communicate willingness to commit the act.
- The victim suffers from a mental disorder that would make them incapable of understanding the nature of the act.
An individual who is facing a criminal sexual contact conviction is innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. A New Jersey criminal sexual contact defense lawyer can investigate the case and challenge any questionable evidence.
What are the Penalties for a Criminal Sexual Contact Conviction in New Jersey?
A criminal sexual contact charge is a felony offense in New Jersey. If an individual is convicted of this charge, he or she could face a prison sentence of up to 18 months. When the charge is aggravated criminal sexual contact, it’s a third-degree offense. Those convicted of aggravated criminal sexual contact could face up to five years in prison.
Not only could a criminal sexual contact conviction lead to a significant prison sentence, it also has other consequences. A criminal sexual contact conviction could result in costly fines and court costs, parole supervision for life, and registration with the sex offenders list. If you plea guilty or are convicted of criminal sexual contact New Jersey, then Megan’s Law requires that you must remain on the sexual offenders list for at least 15 years. Furthermore, Megan’s Law states there are certain requirements that must be met before an individual is removed from this list.
The Benefits of Hiring a New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer
Getting in touch with a criminal defense attorney is the best course of action after being arrested for criminal sexual contact. If you’ve been charged with criminal sexual contact in New Jersey, we welcome you to contact us for a consultation. Our legal team has the skills to help. Our experts have the ability to ensure that you’re informed of your rights, and we look for instances where your rights may have been violated. We carefully listen to your situation and help you develop a solid defense by examining every aspect of your case.