New Jersey Prostitution and Solicitation Defense Attorney

Posted By Aaron Denton, Uncategorized On August 28, 2020

Prostitution and Solicitation Charges in New Jersey

New Jersey law states that an individual can be charged with prostitution if he or she performs a sexual act with an individual for money or other items of value. Solicitation, which is also referred to as promoting prostitution, is also illegal in New Jersey.

Promoting prostitution is defined by seven activities:

  • Managing, owing, or supervising a prostitution house or business
  • Purposely encouraging another individual to become a prostitute
  • Procuring an individual to carry out a sexual act for a patron
  • Soliciting an individual to seek services from a prostitute
  • Transporting an individual within New Jersey for the purpose of prostitution
  • Procuring an individual to work at a place of prostitution
  • Knowingly leasing a place that’s regularly used for the promotion of prostitution or prostitution

Individuals who are charged with promoting prostitution where a minor is involved could face between 10 to 20 years in prison. If you get arrested for prostitution or solicitation of prostitution, it can cause numerous problems. It can be an embarrassing experience, and it can end up on your permanent record, which can hinder your ability to get work, find housing, and get access to educational opportunities.

The laws regarding prostitution and solicitation in New Jersey are tough. The best course of action that individuals can take after being arrested for this type of charge is to contact a reputable New Jersey prostitution and solicitation defense attorney.

What are the Penalties for a Prostitution or Solicitation Conviction in New Jersey?

Individuals who are convicted of prostitution and solicitation could face up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. In addition, any subsequent convictions could lead to fines of up to $10,000 and up to 18 months in prison. In New Jersey, you will have to register as a sex offender if you’re convicted of prostitution or solicitation, which means your record will be accessible to those in your community. A conviction for prostitution or solicitation may also lead to a suspended driver’s license.

Possible Defenses to Prostitution and Solicitation Charges

It’s important that those arrested for prostitution or solicitation say nothing to police officers until an attorney is present. Any statements that you make can be used against you in court.

While facing a prostitution or solicitation charge can be frustrating, it’s up to the prosecuting attorney to produce solid evidence showing the accused is guilty. During a prostitution or solicitation case, defense strategies that can be used include

It was a Forced Act
If an individual was forced to engage in a sexual act, it could be used as a valid defense.

There’s Not Enough Evidence
If the prosecuting attorney isn’t able to produce tangible proof, such as a recording, that shows the accused is guilty, the case may be dismissed for lack of evidence.

Entrapment is a possible defense against a prostitution charge in New Jersey. If law enforcement officials used unethical tactics during an undercover operation, and these actions resulted in an arrest for prostitution, it could be used as a plausible defense.

Get in Touch With our Experienced Legal Team Today

If you’re facing a prostitution or solicitation charge, contact our law firm. Our skilled legal team understands how to navigate through the New Jersey legal system and has extensive experience helping individuals fight prostitution and solicitation charges. Many first-time offenders can avoid jail time if they seek help from an attorney, and some individuals may be eligible for certain diversionary programs.