NJ DEGREE/GRADE OF OFFENSE
Criminal Defense in New Jersey: Securing Your Rights
New Jersey prioritizes the degree of criminal offenses over a categorization system of misdemeanor and felony. It is essential to rely on experienced defense attorneys if you are charged with a crime. The Law Offices of Todd Spodek offer robust legal services throughout New Jersey, including Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Ocean County, Union County, Somerset County, Hudson County, Mercer County, and Essex County.
Our seasoned criminal defense attorneys focus on reducing charges to their lowest possible level for our clients. If the prosecutor makes a favorable offer, our lawyers may advise accepting a plea bargain. However, if the State lacks sufficient evidence to support the charges against you, we provide aggressive advocacy at trial to persuade the jury that you should be found “not guilty.”
Degrees and Penalties in Criminal Charges
One crucial aspect of being accused of a crime is understanding the degree of offense since it dictates various required penalties in New Jersey. Below are New Jersey’s criminal degrees and their mandatory penalties:
Degrees of New Jersey Criminal Offenses
|Criminal Offense Degree||Possible Penalties|
|First-degree criminal offenses||If convicted of murder or aggravated sexual assault or drug distribution (large quantities), 10 to 20 years will be served.|
|Second-degree criminal offenses||If found guilty without a weapon for robbery and charging with certain sexual assaults & aggravated assault or distributing smaller drug quantities or another second-degree crime , imprisonment between five and ten years.|
| Third-degree criminal offenses|| If convicted of possessing cocaine, heroin, ecstasy, handguns or being indicted for certain offences such as theft and aggravated assault, up to five years in prison.|
| Fourth-degree criminal offenses||If because you have been convicted without permission from a car owner or having possession of marijuana, some charges related to assault and threat crime or abusive sexual conduct or another fourth-degree offence have been brought against you; You may face imprisonment for up to 18 months.|
|Municipal/Disorderly Persons Offences||If found guilty of possession of marijuana/having only small amounts for personal use, shoplifting, simple/slight assault, illegal/harassing activities (which do not cause severe harm), disorderly conduct, punishments could be six months in prison/lesser offence/due process hearing. Lesser offences are heard by the Municipal Court.|
NJ Municipal / Disorderly Persons
Less severe offenses are trialed in the NJ municipal court within the township/city where the event occurred.
Fight Your Criminal Charges with Todd Spodek
If you get arrested for any criminal allegations in New Jersey, dial The Law Offices of Todd Spodek’s toll-free number at 212-300-5196 right away. Make sure you exercise your right to remain silent during this time. Get a free consultation with a seasoned defense lawyer to protect yourself against any potential loss of rights. We address your concerns and safeguard your interests in cases involving Union County, Middlesex County Monmouth County Ocean County Somerset County Mercer County Essex County Hudson County.
Spanish Translation Services Available
Our Spanish-speaking clients can enjoy The Law Offices of Todd Spodek’s Spanish translation servicesan important step towards unlocking equal justice regardless of language barriers. Contact us today to learn more.
The Law Offices of Todd Spodek offers the legal aid for criminal cases. Our clients are treated with respect and confidentiality. Our lawyers collaborate with other professionals to ensure we offer suitable solutions regarding each clients specific situation. You don’t have to bear severe penalties provided by the degree of your charges; we can provide you with a thorough defense strategy that could potentially mean minimal charges or dismissal of charges. Contact us now!
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS