NJ DRIVING WITH SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE LAW IN NJ PENALTIES & JAIL TIME
Driving with a Suspended License in New Jersey: The Law Offices of Todd Spodek Offers Legal Defense
Driving with a suspended license in New Jersey is an offense that carries severe legal consequences. It is not only considered a serious traffic violation but could also lead to hefty fines, further revocation of your driver’s license, and even incarceration. However, you do not have to face these consequences alone; the Law Offices of Todd Spodek has highly experienced and competent attorneys who can provide vigorous legal representation to help reduce or eliminate the penalties you face.
Why You Need an Expert Defense Attorney
Several reasons could lead to the suspension of your driver’s license in New Jersey, including failure to show up in court, unpaid surcharges, accumulating DMV points, or a DWI/DUI conviction. If caught driving with a suspended license, prosecutors and courts overwhelmingly view it as a severe offense and may impose harsh punishment. Therefore, you need an expert defense attorney to represent your interests in court.
NJSA 39:3-40: Driving While Suspended
Under NJSA 39:3-40, driving while suspended is considered a grave traffic violation that attracts significant penalties. It states that “No person whose driver’s license has been refused or whose license or reciprocity privilege has been revoked or suspended shall operate a motor vehicle during the period of such refusal or suspension.” Additionally, no person whose car registration has been revoked shall operate such motor vehicles during such period.”
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in NJ
If charged with driving with a suspended license in New Jersey, you face harsh penalties based on your prior offenses.
First Offense – A first offender could face fines not exceeding $500 and further suspension of their driver’s license for six months.
Second Offense – An offender may face mandatory jail time from one to five days along with fines up to $750 and additional six-months suspension of their driver’s license.
Third Offense – The offender could face mandatory imprisonment of up to ten days accompanied by a fine of $1,000 and further suspension of their driver’s license for six months.
Note that if your license was previously revoked following DWI/DUI charges, the penalties become even harsher, resulting in mandatory jail time for first-time offenders and prolonged suspension of your driver’s license. Additionally, with conviction, driving while suspended is recorded on your driving history abstract permanently, meaning you’re vulnerable to steep surcharges paid to DMV due to the offense.
Expert Legal Defense for NJ Driving with a Suspended License
If charged with driving with a suspended license in New Jersey, experienced defense attorneys at the Law Offices Todd Spodek can help build a strong legal defense strategy to lessen or eliminate the penalties you face. Listed below are some defenses our team deploys:
Lack of Notice- Lack of notification regarding the suspension of one’s driver’s license is considered an acceptable defense.
Wrongful Suspension – If a driver’s license is unlawfully suspended by the DMV (wrong identity, etc.), we defend against such charges.
Emergency- In case of emergencies that required you to drive on a suspended license, we can create robust defenses strategies that could help alleviate or eliminate your penalties.
At the Law Office Todd Spodek, our highly skilled team of professional attorneys has successfully defended clients throughout New Jersey facing similar charges. Our innovative legal defense strategies help reduce or even eliminate severe legal consequences. We offer dedicated legal services to those facing driving with suspended licenses in Camden, Gloucester City, Haddonfield Mt. Holly and other areas within New Jersey. Call us today for free consultation 888-609-8147 or email us and book an appointment!
Penalties for Driving With Suspended License NJ
In New Jersey (NJ), it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while in possession of a suspended license. When caught driving with a suspended license, revelers risk hefty penalties and fines. Subsequent violations of this statute come with an even harsher punishment. In this article, we shall outline the different penalties you might incur if found guilty of NJ’s driving with a suspended license offense.
If one is charged with N.J.S.A 39:3-40 for the first time, he or she risks paying up to 500 dollars fine and an additional six months’ suspension of their driver’s license.
For the second offense, one faces compulsory jail time ranging from one to five days, a fine not exceeding 750 dollars, plus six months suspension of their driver’s license.
A third-time offender may face mandatory imprisonment of up to ten days, a $1000 fine, and another suspension of his or her driver’s license for six months.
It’s important to note that past suspensions resulting from DWI/DUI charges come hand-in-hand with elevated penalties for subsequent offenses, meaning longer jail times and more extended suspensions of driver licenses.
NJSA 39:3-40 – Driving While Suspended in New Jersey
Unpaid surcharges or failure to show up in court could lead to the revocation or suspension of your driver’s license in New Jersey. As per NJSA 39:3-40, when this happens- you are prohibited from personally operating any motor vehicle during the period of such refusal or cancellation or if your car registration is revoked. The statute also prohibits any motor operation by individuals whose reciprocity privilege has been deprived or refused.
Legal Services for Driving on Suspended License in NJ
The Law Offices Todd Spodek offers dedicated legal defense services to individuals charged with driving on a suspended license in NJ. We deploy robust and innovative defenses strategies that help alleviate or eliminate your penalties.
Lack of Notice Defense
If you never received any notification regarding the suspension of your driver’s license, it is considered as “Lack Of Notice,” an acceptable defense strategy.
If authorities suspended your driving license mistakenly – identity theft, etc.- we apply this defense strategy our arsenal to defend you against such charges.
The criminal statute of NJSA 39:3-40 has a provision that allows for emergency situations when offenders are at liberty to operate cars even with their licenses being suspended. We help build up extensive defense strategies founded on these laws protecting your rights in court.
In conclusion, If you have been caught driving with a suspended license within New Jersey like Gloucester City, Haddonfield Mt. Holly or Camden, then be sure to contact Law Office Todd Spodek. It’s essential to have an experienced attorney representing in such cases since these violations carry hefty fines, additional suspension or even raise jail time- depending on the case’s severity. So quickly call our free 24-hour toll hotline (888)609-8147, email us today and book an appointment or visit our website for more information!
NJ MEGAN'S LAW PENALTIES
The Significance of Megan's Law in New Jersey: Protecting Communities from Sex Offenders Megan's Law…
NJ MEGAN'S LAW
Consequences of Failing to Register Under Megan's Law in Atlantic County, NJ Megan's Law is…
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS