NJ Drug Possession Lawyers
Drug Possession Lawyers in NJ
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, it is illegal for any individual to actually or constructively possess a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) unless it is in accordance with a valid prescription. In the event that someone violates this law by possessing marijuana, they are subject to a disorderly persons offense in Lindenwold, Bellmawr, Haddon Township or another local court in Camden County. Any case that involves more serious drugs is an indictable crime that would be heard at the Camden County Superior Court. Irrespective of what degree your drug possession offense falls in the grading scheme, our firm has defense attorneys with the qualifications to assist you. We have a team of strong criminal lawyers, several of whom are former prosecutors who have worked on just about any variety of CDS possession charge you can think of. To get an appointment or discuss your case over the phone in your free consultation, give us a call today.
Possession of CDS Charge in Collingswood, NJ
Should the prosecutor on your Collingswood or other Camden County possession charge be capable of proving a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, the severity of the penalties you would be looking at in your sentencing will be dependent upon the type and amount of the drug. When a person breaks this law by possessing a controlled dangerous substance listed under Schedules I, II, III, or IV, they can be charged with a third-degree offense under 2C:35-10. Although the usual fine for the lion’s share of third-degree crimes is $15,000, this crime carries a $35,000 fine. On top of that, third-degree drug possession can expose an individual to a term in prison as long as five years. A person can be found guilty of a crime of the fourth degree if they have any form of CDS contained on Schedule V of the Controlled Dangerous Substances Act. This schedule includes such drugs as codeine. Conviction on a fourth degree CDS possession charge can cost you $25,000 in fines and incarceration for up to 18 months. Your driver’s license can be suspended for a minimum of six months for a person found guilty of possessing drugs.
Arrested for Possession of Drugs in Gloucester City, New Jersey
New Jersey Possession Legislation is broad enough to include a wide range of controlled substances from coke to heroin to prescription pills of all types. The only kind of drug detailed in these Schedules that is dealt with separately is marijuana. Marijuana charges are based on the amount that the person is found to be possessing. A person with 50 grams or more of marijuana or more than 5 grams of hashish in their possession is guilty of a fourth degree offense. As it was noted above, forth degree possession of marijuana can get you to up to 18 months in jail. The only difference with marijuana in connection to a fourth-degree charge is that the possible fine on your sentence can be up to $25,000, an increase from the regular fourth-degree possession charge by $10,000. If a person is discovered to have fewer than 50 grams or fewer than 5 grams of resin, then this is graded simply as a disorderly persons offense. Nevertheless, a disorderly persons offenses still bear with them the possibility of fines as much as $1000.
Get an Attorney to Fight Your CDS Possession Charge in Camden
As you have probably realized by now, any possession offense carries the potential to severely impact your life into future. Even the most basic of marijuana cases, possession of just a few grams, can leave you with a marred criminal record and thousands of dollars in financial repercussions, including having your driver’s license suspended. The consequences go as far as scenarios where you can quickly find yourself in state prison when the drug is something in the genre of MDMA, heroin or cocaine. If you were arrested for possession of CDS in Camden, Pine Hill, Voorhees, Mount Ephraim or Pennsauken, call our Criminal Attorneys at Spodek Law Group today. Our lawyers and staff are more than happy to speak to you and your consultation will be free of charge.