NJ KETAMINE OFFENSE
Ketamine Possession or Distribution: Understanding the Severe Consequences You Could Face
Possessing or distributing ketamine is a grave crime in the state of New Jersey. If you’re caught with the drug, you could face severe consequences, including heavy fines, probation, loss of license, and even imprisonment. Don’t make the mistake of taking these charges lightly; engage the services of an experienced ketamine attorney immediately to avoid harsh penalties. At Spodek Law Group, we’ve been effectively representing clients facing drug charges for many years and have built a reputation as dependable attorneys who fight aggressively for their clients rights. Get in touch with us today to discuss your situation with one of our dedicated attorneys.
Ketamine is a powerful mind-altering substance that veterinarians use to tranquilize large animals such as cats and horses during surgeries. The controlled substance is also increasingly popular as a club drug among young adults who take it at parties and dance clubs. It goes by many street names such as Special K, Super K, Lady K, Vitamin K, Ketaject, or Cat Tranquilizers.
While some users might use small doses of ketamine for its mild stimulant properties, others abuse it to achieve a dream-like state of mind characterized by hallucinations. Because of its nature, law enforcement agencies take possession and distribution offenses regarding ketamine very seriously.
Penalties for Possession and Distribution of Ketamine
The New Jersey State drug laws are very severe when it comes to positions or distribution of drugs like ketamine. As far as Ketamine is concerned,
– Possession is classified as a third-degree offense punishable by up to $25 000 in fines and five years behind bars.
– On the other hand, based on drugs found during arrest:
– intent to distribute can result in three degrees or first-degree offense which carry-up penalty ranging from $300,000 in fines and a maximum of 20 years in jail.
As such, it’s crucial to contact a ketamine lawyer immediately after you or someone you know has been charged with possession or distribution. You don’t want to go through this alone; trust our teams at Spodek Law Group to build a robust defense in your favor.
Table 1: Penalties for Possession and Distributing Ketamine in New Jersey
| Level of Offense | Penalty |
| Possession | Third-degree crime: up to $25,000 in fines and five years in jail |
| Distribution | First-degree to third-degree crime, depending on the drugs’ weight: up to $300,000 in fines and up to 20 years in jail |
Contact Spodek Law Group Today
At Spodek Law Group, we understand how severe and stressful being charged with drug offenses can be. That’s why we strive to provide our clients with the top expertise available by offering a 24/7 hotline that allows them first consultation deadlines. Our team has vast experience with drug charges brings both knowledge and tact when building solid defenses for our clients. Call us today at 888-981-8407 so that one of our trustworthy attorneys can guide you through the legal process.
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS