NJ MARIJUANA POSSESSION CHARGES
Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer in New Jersey: Don’t Face Conviction Alone
Marijuana possession charges in New Jersey can be devastating, even if it’s less than 50 grams (1.76 ounces) of marijuana you have on you. Potential penalties include jail time, fines, and suspension of your driver’s license. What’s worse, a conviction will go on your record; this permanent mark will negatively impact future job or education opportunities for you. However, the good news is that you don’t have to face these charges alone; with an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney from The Law Offices of Todd Spodek on your side, getting the possible result could be a reality.
At The Law Offices of Todd Spodek in NJ, drug crime defense is our specialty; we cover nine offices throughout the state. Our attorneys are experienced in representing clients who have been charged with marijuana possession. Most notably, many of them are former New Jersey prosecutors and public defenders who have handled thousands of cases over the years; they combine their expertise to offer unique insight into every client’s case.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in New Jersey
The recreational use laws on marijuana might become legal soon in New Jersey; however, non-medical participation remains illegal today. In municipal court handling a disorderly person offense is possession of 50 grams or less than marijuana or five grams or less hashish possession charge level/fine based punishment may reach a $1000 fine and six months jail time if convicted guilty.
Possessing more than 50 grams of marijuana or five grams of hashish is another story: it’s considered a fourth-degree offense worth up to $25K fine and up to eighteen months imprisonment.
If the defendant has converted any school property as possessions den during conviction processing within 1000 feet restriction distance from any such K-12 area in reference bus operated by school supplies minimum additional fine plus obtain 100 hours? Community service sentence.
Prosecuting attorneys frequently find a way to intimidate defendants in possession charges by imposing drug distribution charges. It’s common practice even for small amounts, like a rolling paper or blunt. Still, with less than one ounce of marijuana distribution, it is also considered a fourth-degree offense, punishable by up to 18 months in prison and $25,000 fines.
Avoiding a Marijuana Possession Conviction in New Jersey
If you’re convicted on marijuana possession charges in NJ, the damages can be severe; additional fines, imprisonment and getting jailed are among the worst outcomes of this conviction. However, with The Law Offices of Todd Spodek as your legal representative company and our experienced criminal defense attorneys’ help, you have good chances to avoid these penalties.
Our team of marijuana criminal defense attorneys consists of hardworking experts who will begin immediately to develop a tailored defense presenting disputable evidence or charging flaws against you to successfully challenge your arrest legality Furthermore try negotiating your release pending trial until they investigate the prosecution’s case on your behalf thoroughly.
Multiple Strategies for Marijuana Possession Defense
We understand several strategies that could result in dismissal from marijuana possession charges:
– Lack of probable cause for stopping or searching you.
– Illegal search and seizure
– Failure to advise of Miranda rights against self-incrimination
– Mistaken identity due confusion/deliberate manipulation at arrest time
– Racial/ethnic/gender/profiling bias
– Unable to prove alleged illegal possession.
– Problems with chain of custody management/retrieval/discovery of marijuana allegedly possessed
The Conditional Discharge program may apply if prosecutors can’t dismiss the case entirely; eligible candidates need no prior convictions nor previous diversion programs under their belts. Full compliance with requirements while remaining arrest-free during probation terms lasts usually one year leads to original charge dismissal once completed successfully.
New Jersey courts offer two different first-time offender diversion programs; one would be the Drug Court program; the other is Pretrial Intervention (PTI). PTI aims for court-supervised rehabilitation probation that usually spans three years on average, with psychological and/or drug rehab evaluations, random urine testing, and an addiction treatment recovery program.
Our attorney team can assist with eligibility determination for either of these diversion programs: PTI or Drug Court to help defendants enter into an appropriate rehabilitation program. Beyond that, we’re also available to discuss addiction treatment and recovery options outside NJ’s court systems.
Meet With Our New Jersey Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys
Dont gamble your freedom, job opportunities, or education; you need knowledgeable marijuana criminal defense lawyers from The Law Offices of Todd Spodek by your side in NJ to reduce every negative outcome possibility. Call today at 212-300-5196 for a free initial legal consultation; we cover nine offices all over the state of New Jersey waiting eagerly to begin immediately on developing a proper defense strategy plan for your case.
-MARIJUANA POSSESSION CHARGES
NJ MARIJUANA POSSESSION
Possession of Marijuana in Camden County: An In-Depth Guide to Understanding the Law Marijuana possession,…
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS