NJ MEGAN’S LAW
Consequences of Failing to Register Under Megan’s Law in Atlantic County, NJ
Megan’s Law is a crucial set of statutes designed to protect communities against sexual predators. It mandates individuals who have been convicted of sex-based crimes to register with the police and inform their community. Violating this law is tantamount to an indictable offense, equivalent to a felony, punishable by up to five years’ imprisonment. If someone you love or you have been convicted of a sex-based crime, it is imperative that you abide by this law.
The Spodek Law Group, spearheaded by our experienced attorney Todd Spodek, has extensive knowledge of the law and can handle any legal situation relating to Megan’s Law. Our law firm operates nationwide and guarantees personalized legal representation for each client.
Who Must Comply with the Registration Requirements in Atlantic County?
Anyone who has been adjudicated delinquent (for juveniles), convicted, or found not guilty due to insanity for committing any of the following crimes must register under MeganÄôs Law:
– Aggravated Sexual Assault
– Sexual Assault
– Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
– Kidnapping (if a sex offense was committed or attempted on a victim less than 16 years old)
– Endangering the Welfare of a Child
– False Imprisonment ( if the offender isn’t their parent and if the Victim is a child)
Please note that if an offender attempts any of the aforementioned crimes and displays repetitive compulsive behavior as determined by the court, they still must obey Megan’s law.
When Should an Atlantic County Offender Register?
Offenders placed on probation or parole or subjected to other forms of community surveillance should connect with the relevant agency accountable for their management at onset. In such cases, offenders should register with either Juvenile Justice Commission, Department Of Corrections, Department of Human Services/Administration Office Of The Courts where applicable.
Offenders incarcerated in juvee facilities or correctional institutions must register with the Department of Corrections or Juvenile Justice Commission, for persons under custody of the Department of Human Services, and the Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO) for their municipality. Within 48 hours after release from a correctional facility or an involuntary emplacement, offenders must register.
Individuals who return to New Jersey or move within the state must connect with the CLEO of their residing municipality ten days before resident arrival. Offenders studying in any New Jersey learning institution are obliged to register with law enforcement authorities and CLEOs when necessary within ten days during the course’s commencement.
Employed offenders working in New Jersey should register within ten days prior to commencing employment if they work full time or part-time in NJ for more than 14 consecutive days or over 30days annually.
Those relocating within NJ must inform their registration agencies ten days earlier than moving to get updated information on their whereabouts.
Ramifications of Failure to Register Under MeganÄôs Law
Evading Megan’s Law registration is a crime of the third degree that could result in up to five years’ imprisonment in a New Jersey state penitentiary. The Spodek Law Group helmed by attorney Todd Spodek will not rest until your legal quandaries are resolved expertly and professionally.
MeganÄôs Law Interpretation To Internet Usage
Under Megan’s law statutes, any sex-offenders required registering following convictions must accord adequate notifications around their accessibility to Internet ready computer devices. False information provision regarding an offender’s Internet usage alongside non-provision of updated data are crimes punishable as fourth-degree offenses: fines not exceeding $10,000 plus eighteen months imprisonment
At Spodek Law firm, we understand that adhering and managing Megan’s law requirements can be quite distressing. Attorney Todd Spodek expertly manages all technicalities surrounding Megan’s law, always keen as a professional and compassionate leader to tackle any scenario with utmost sensitivity necessary. Schedule a consult with our highly-experienced legal team today.
Expungement of Your Atlantic County Criminal Record is Possible with Spodek Law Group If you…
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS