NJ NEW JERSEY DWI / DUI PENALTIES
New Jersey DWI Laws: Understanding Consequences of a Conviction
If you are facing charges for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey, it is imperative to know the potential consequences that come with a conviction. Unquestionably, DWI laws in New Jersey are complicated, and the penalties depend on several factors such as your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), previous convictions, and whether or not an accident occurred.
Penalties for a First-Time DWI Conviction in New Jersey
A BAC greater than or equal to 0.08% is regarded as DWI. The first-time penalties that follow such conviction in New Jersey vary depending on your BAC at the time of the traffic stop.
In case there is a BAC reading of between 0.08% and 0.10%, then you will likely face the following consequences:
– A fine ranging from $250 to $400;
– Up to 30 days’ imprisonment stint;
– Mandatory attendance to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC);
– Two consecutive days at an IDRC;
– Use an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for not less than three months; and
– An insurance surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years.
It’s worth noting that regardless of any DWI convictions resulting from drunk driving charges, you must give up your drivers license till after installing an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. Therefore, reinstating full driver privileges might take longer than anticipated more than just thirty days.
Suppose the Blood Alcohol Content was between 0.10% and 0.15%. In this case, these are possible subsequent penalties for first-time conviction:
– Fines ranging from $300 to $500;
– Keeping the ignition interlock tool attached to your automobile for no less than seven months but not exceeding one year;
Alternatively, if there was a test reading with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, the sentence will likely include four to six months without your drivers license due to suspension. Furthermore, you must maintain that ignition interlock device attached to your vehicle for roughly nine to fifteen months after reinstating your drivers license.
Subsequent Convictions Under New Jersey DWI Penalties
Penalties for repeat DWI offenders are typically worse than those for first-time offenders. Suppose there is a second DWI offender’s conviction in New Jersey. In that case, there’s a mandatory minimum jail confinement sentence of forty-eight consecutive hours, which can increase up to 90 days. The fine can within the range of $500 to $1,000; also, your drivers license suspension varies from one year to two years.
Once the drivers license suspension period ends when dealing with a DWI third conviction, they face other possible penalties such as an eight-year driver’s license disqualification stint and a six-month jail sentence. If under the influence of alcohol and caused an accident while driving, then harsher penalties follow.
Fees Associated with DWI Convictions in New Jersey
There’s unwarranted financial pressure associated with a DWI conviction in New Jersey. Other than the court-mandated fines and insurance surcharge fees imposed on drivers, additional charges towards funding drunk driving enforcement initiatives arise. Funds required may result from Motor Vehicle Association restoration fees regarding intoxicated driving programs and violent crimes compensation funds.
If sentenced to home detention, you’ll have to pay for your GPS ankle monitoring tools besides catering to your Ignition Interlock Device payments.
Defense against DWI Charges
Suppose a breathalyzer test isn’t correctly calibrated nor correctly administered; it may provide solid grounds for defense in a DWI case by proving this claim before the court of law. Other cases involving field sobriety tests pose limited scientific grounds as subjective readings remain plausible.
When collecting evidence, the police must follow proper guidelines and respect citizen rights. Failure to enforce these rules violates the accused’s rights, considered as an excellent legal point of defense that a good lawyer will use to win your case. A great New Jersey DWI lawyer will challenge breathalyzer test results’ accuracy, presenting expert witnesses or other expert evidence.
Todd Spodek: For Aggressive Criminal Defense Representation
A top issue for any citizen is their safety and freedom in a community governed by laws. In DWI cases, your driving privileges and personal freedom are at risk when car accidents occur due to alcoholism. Creditworthy legal representation during such crises is typically expensive; therefore, you require skilled representation.
Hiring a New Jersey DWI lawyer provides essential support while building a strong defense against any looming DWI charges brought against you. They can meticulously scrutinize all available evidence and re-enact the events leading up to the incident in question to confirm if there were errors that could potentially exculpate you from charges leveled against you.
Contact Todd Spodek today for aggressive criminal defense representation engineered towards safeguarding your rights throughout the judicial process.
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS