NJ NEW JERSEY IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE
Table – Penalties for DWI and Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test Offenses
| **Offense** | **Offenders** | **Penalties** |
| Driving while Intoxicated | First Time | Judge’s discretion to waive the ignition interlock requirement, provided the BAC is 0.14% or less; compulsory installation with non-negotiable duration for BAC of 0.15% or higher. |
| Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test | First Time | Compulsory installation with duration discretion under the Judge’s purview. The duration ranges from 6 months to 1 year after license suspension; compulsory installation with non-negotiable duration for repeat offenders. |
| Driving while Intoxicated | Repeat Offenders | Compulsory installation irrespective of BAC levels. The ignition interlock remains installed from 1-3 years maximum following license suspension for second or subsequent DWI offense or Refusal conviction. |
Protect Yourself from Stiff Penalties of Ignition Interlock Devices with Todd Spodek Attorney at Law
New Jersey laws impose severe penalties on drivers facing charges of driving while intoxicated (DWI) and refusal to submit to breath test, mainly mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in their vehiclesexcept for first-time DWI offenders whose Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) levels are below 0.14%. However, if you’re a repeat offender or have a BAC level of 0.15% or higher as a first-time offender, there will be an automatic imposition of the ignition interlock device without negotiation.
It can be uncomfortable and somewhat embarrassing when every time you start your vehicle, you must provide a breath sample verifying that you haven’t drunk any alcohol beyond the legal limit. This mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device becomes very inconvenient, especially with regular calibration required. In any case, tampering with an ignition interlock device is an offense in New Jersey and comes with stern consequences such as license suspension or even imprisonment.
Don’t risk enduring these certain penalties of the law or even getting arrested for tampering with the ignition interlock device. Instead, contact skilled defense attorneys at Todd Spodek Attorney at Law to ensure you get the outcome out of your DWI case without facing harsh consequences.
Understanding Ignition Interlock Devices in New Jersey
An ignition interlock device is a small breathalyzer system that prohibits intoxicated drivers from starting their motor vehicles. The driver must provide a breath sample to prove that they are safe to drive their vehicle since the breathalyzer checks for alcohol contents in their breath. An ignition interlock device assures everyone on the road that the driver never consumes alcoholic beverages beyond a reasonable limit.
NJ has several recourses of interlock companies where you can find installation services should you need them, but be aware that installations come at prices upwards of $1000 yearly. In any regard, bear in mind that if your reading turns out above 0.05% BAC when blowing into it anytime after starting your car, honking will commence with flashing lights on and off to signal nearby law enforcement officers closeby that they’re out on the road intoxicated.
Penalties For First-Time Offenders
For first-time offenders charged with DWI or refusal to submit to a breath test and have a BAC level below 0.15%, there’s still room to wiggle; judges may waive compulsory installation provided offenses remain within state guidelines prescribed by law agencies like MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving).
If found guilty, an offender could face license suspension from three months up to one year on top of attending alcohol awareness classes funded from their pocket.
Penalties for Repeat Offenders
Repeat offenders are in for a harder penalty, having to compulsorily install ignition interlock devices regardless of the BAC levels found in their breathalyzer test. The state mandates that an offender faces the ignition interlock device installation lasting from one to three years maximum after license suspension following a 2nd or subsequent DWI offense or refusal conviction.
Hire Todd Spodek DUI Attorney To Avoid These Penalties
With the strict penalties that come with DWI and Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test offenses, avoiding them should entail having competent attorneys like Todd Spodek represent you. Todd Spodek is committed to handling all aspects related to traffic offenses in New Jersey and has been successful in fighting several cases before both federal and state courts.
He serves residents facing DWI charges in Atlantic County, including areas such as Hamilton Township, Egg Harbor Township, Atlantic City, Mays Landing, Galloway Township. A skilled lawyer like Mr. Spodek will investigate every aspect of your arrest and could successfully fight against convictions that result in driver’s licenses’ loss.
Contact Todd Spodek Attorney at Law today by calling 888-375-3494 or emailing us if you’re ever charged with DWI or Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test anywhere in New Jerseywe offer free initial consultations!
NEW JERSEY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS