NJ Sex Crimes Lawyers
Pack your prison bag if you are convicted of a sex crime in New Jersey. Like many other states, New Jersey statutes carry mandatory minimum prison sentences for anyone convicted of a sex crime in the state. And while prison time is the harshest of the consequences, the conviction oftentimes includes other penalties like fines and registration with the state. A person who is convicted of a sex crime faces life-altering consequences ahead in their life.
Megan’s Law went into effect after seven-year-old Megan Kanka of Hamilton, New Jersey, was abducted, raped, and killed by her neighbor, a convicted sex offender. The law stipulates that individuals are notified if a sex offender lives in their community. The law also stiffens the penalties that a person receives if they are convicted of a sex crime.
If you are convicted of a sex crime in New Jersey, Megan’s Law ensures that hundreds of people will know within minutes. With a quick posting on a social media site, the whole world may have the information in hand in a matter of hours. Furthermore, the online sex offender registry requires offenders to place a current photo and home address information that anyone can access at any time.
While this ensures safer communities, it also endangers lives. Not every person convicted of a sex crime hurts a child, despite the belief. It is imperative that a lawyer handle your case to reduce the risk of a conviction. Sex crime lawyers in New Jersey help protect your name and keep you safe from the dangers that convicted sex offenders face.
Sex Crimes Penalties
Under penal code NJSA 43-6(c), sex crime convictions in New Jersey carry mandatory minimum sentences. Anyone convicted of a sex crime in New Jersey will spend a set amount of time behind bars, depending on the actual conviction. Of course, a judge or jury may impose a longer sentence than the mandatory minimum. Some sex crimes can land you behind bars for 20-years or longer.
Types of Sex Crimes
A person may be charged with a first, second, third, or fourth-degree sex crime. The severity of the crime influences its categorization. A first-degree sex crime is the most serious of the degrees. Mandatory minimum sentences for first-degree sex crimes range from five – 10 years.
Some of the most common types of sex crimes committed in New Jersey includes:
- Sexual Assault: Sexual assault is a second-degree crime in New Jersey. This charge is given when a person sexually penetrates another person without their prior consent. If the victim is under 13 years old, only ‘sexual contact’ is needed for a person to face this criminal charge.
- Prostitution: Prostitution is the illegal exchange of money or services or products for sexual favors. Both a person offering services and a person requesting services may be charged with prostitution in New Jersey under penal code NJSA 2C:34-1.
- Child Pornography: It is a third-degree offense to possess, view, or distribute images that depict a person under the age of 18 in any sexual act or stimulation. It is a first-degree felony to permit or cause a child to engage in prohibited sexual acts.
- Human Trafficking: Human trafficking is a serious crime that shows serious disregard for human life. This crime is charged as a first-degree felony in New Jersey. Human trafficking is defined as knowingly holding or recruiting, transporting, or otherwise obtains another person against their will to engage in sexual activity, often for profit.
No matter what type of sex crime a person faces in New Jersey, they need a good lawyer handling the case. Harsh penalties face those convicted of a sex crime in New Jersey. Obviously, prison is never fun but the consequences of a sex crime conviction extend well beyond time behind bars. Life may never be the same after a conviction for any type of sex crime but an attorney can make a big difference in the outcome of the case. Speak to an attorney during a no-cost consultant and protect yourself when it matters the most.