NJ Speeding Defense Lawyers
NJ Speeding Defense Lawyers
A speeding violation in New Jersey can lead to serious consequences involving your finances as well as your license. Generally, you are permitted to get up to twelve (12) points on your license before the court will grant grounds for suspension. When you get a speeding ticket, you may be subject to up to five (5) points for a single violation. According to N.J.S.A. 39:4-99, the state need only show the speeding ticket to establish sufficient evidence to prove their case. Unless substantial contradictory evidence is available for you to present at trial, you will have a hard time overcoming as speeding ticket without legal help. Spodek Law Group has been representing defendant’s charged with speeding, driving without insurance, driving while suspended and driving under the influence in towns like Kearny, Harrison, Hoboken, Weehawken and Jersey City for more than fifteen years. If you or someone you love has been charged with a traffic offense in New Jersey, Spodek Law Group can help. If you would like to set up your free initial consultation, please reach out to our offices directly. Here is some key information on the offense of speeding, including the penalties if convicted.
New Jersey Speeding Defense Attorneys
When issuing a speeding violation, the law enforcement official writing the complaint and the summons, shall specify the speed at which the defendant is alleged to have been driving and the speed which this statute declares lawful at the time and place of the alleged violation.
In the New Jersey Criminal Code, section N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 sets out the following limitations, subject to state and municipal alterations, for speed rates in Hudson County New Jersey:
- Twenty-five (25) miles per hour, when driving through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or going home from school, during opening or closing hours;
- Twenty-five (25) miles per hour in any residential or business district;
- Thirty-five miles (35) per hour in any suburban residential or business district;
- Fifty miles (55) per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise detailed in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” according to section 2 of P.L.1997, c. 415 (C.39:4-98.3 et al.).
What Penalties Exist for Speeding in NJ?
The number of points assessed will vary depending on the difference between your alleged speed at the time of the violation and the speed limit in that jurisdiction. The greater the disparity, the harsher the penalties. Here are the parameters for how your speed may correlate with point on your license:
- If you exceed the maximum speed 1-14 mph over the limit, you will get assessed 2 (two) points on your license.
- If you exceed the maximum speed 15-29 mph over the limit, you will get assessed 4 (four) points on your license.
- If you exceed the maximum speed 30 mph or more over the limit, you will get assessed 5 (five) points on your license.
On top of potentially receiving points on your license, your speeding could also subject you to a reckless driving or careless driving offense. These offenses bear more serious penalties including up to sixty (60) days in jail and a $200.00 fine.
New Jersey Speeding Attorneys
Far too often, individuals believe that traffic tickets are minor and do not require the assistance of an attorney. Nevertheless, as you can tell from the details above, convictions for certain speeding violations might cost a defendant not only a suspension of their driving privileges but also can cost them their freedom. If you or someone you love has been charged with a traffic violation such as speeding in towns like Union City, Harrison, North Bergen, West New York or Bayonne, it is critical that you speak to an experienced New Jersey traffic attorney about your options. For a free initial consultation, please call us today.