Prostitution Defense Attorneys in New Jersey

Posted By user, Uncategorized On November 18, 2020

Prostitution Defense Attorneys in New Jersey

New Jersey Police officers in many municipalities are notorious for conducting prostitution sting and “quality of life” sweeps. The net created from such efforts often results in the arrest and filing of charges against both patrons (a.k.a. Johns) and prostitutes. Irrespective of the method by which you were charged with prosecution in Camden or other counties, our criminal firm is ready to defend you.

Prostitution Charges in Winslow and Other Municipalities Across New Jersey

Even though Camden is unquestionably the busiest venue in the county for prostitution charges, police throughout the county, including in Winslow Township, are also active in filing offenses under N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1. This violation gets triggered whenever “prostitution” is attempted or committed by a person who is: (1) a patron; (2) a provider of the sexual activity; or (3) promotes these activities. The term “prostitution” is defined in the New Jersey Criminal Code as “sexual activity with another person in exchange for something of economic value, or the offer or acceptance of an offer to engage in sexual activity in exchange for something of economic value.” “Sexual activity” can refer to a range of activities, including genital, anal or oral intercourse, masturbation, touching of the genitals, buttocks, or female breasts, and other sexual conduct. The four elements of this offense are as follows:

  1. either the making or acceptance of an offer;
  2. to engage in sexual relations;
  3. in exchange for money or something else of value; and
  4. with a purpose to perform this conduct.

Degrees of Prostitution and Solicitation Charges in New Jersey

Prostitution is a disorderly persons offense in cases where it involves personally offering sexual favors in exchange for something of economic value. These activities are elevated to a fourth-degree crime when the conviction represents a second or third violation. It is a third-degree offense to commit a fourth or subsequent offense in this kind. It is a second-degree crime to knowingly take part in prostitution with a minor child under eighteen (18) years of age.

Penalties for Conviction of Prostitution and Solicitation in New Jersey

A disorderly persons offense for prostitution carries a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in the county jail. Fourth-degree prosecution can result in up to 18 months in state prison and fine as high as $10,000. The maximum penalties for third-degree prostitution include a $15,000 fine and 5 years in prison. Second-degree prosecution carries a potential fine of $150,000 and 5-10 years behind bars. In addition, a six months driver’s license suspension can be imposed if a motor vehicle was part of the commission of prostitution.

New Jersey Prostitution and Solicitation Defense Lawyers

If you got arrested for promoting, soliciting, or serving as prostitution, an attorney at Spodek Law Group is ready to assist you in defending your charge. The attorneys at our firm have over a century of experience defending prostitution cases throughout the state of New Jersey. Contact us if you are facing a charge in Magnolia, Gloucester City, Chesilhurst, Pennsauken, Cherry Hill or another municipality. We are available around the for a free consultation.